About Research in Film and History

unsplash.com/@jeffma © original copyright holders.

unsplash.com/@jeffma © original copyright holders.

Aims and Scope

Research in Film and History is a peer-reviewed online journal edited and published by staff and postdoctoral researchers in Film and History at the University of Bremen, Germany.

Research in Film and History offers an international platform for cutting-edge debate, new approaches, and interdisciplinary perspectives on the intersection between film and history. The journal seeks submissions that explore thematic or methodological connections between the two disciplines through a theoretical, practical, or historical lens.

In order to make international debates and recent research available to a wider audience, Research in Film and History has a non-commercial open access policy. Research in Film and History complies with all digital publishing standards and is listed in DOAJ – The Directory of Open Access Journals.

Research in Film and History is published once a year with both themed and open issues. For the regular issues, it accepts submissions in response to specific calls for papers that are advertised via the journal website. Submissions are always open for longer articles for the “New Approaches” section. There is no charge for authors to submit or publish an article in Research in Film and History.

Research in Film and History was developed as part of the research project “Audiovisual Histospheres” (Rasmus Greiner, University of Bremen), which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research initiative “Kleine Fächer – große Potentiale” (Small Subjects – Big Potential). It received additional funding from the University’s Central Research Development Fund (CRDF) as part of the pioneer project „Audio History of Film“ and is currently funded by the Centre for Media, Communication and Information Research (ZeMKI), University of Bremen.

Editorial Board

General Editors: Rasmus Greiner, Tatiana Astafeva
Managing Editors: Delia González de Reufels, Winfried Pauleit
Editors: Tatiana Astafeva, Mara Fritzsche, Rasmus Greiner, Angela Rabing, Christine Rüffert

International Advisory Board

Mason Allred (Brigham Young University – Hawaii)
Maja Baechler (Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr)
Anne Barnert (Humboldt-Universität Berlin)
Nicholas Baer (University of Chicago)
Stephanie Billib (Bergen-Belsen Memorial)
Carolyn Birdsall (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
Dagmar Brunow (Linnaeus University)
Robert Burgoyne (University of St Andrews)
Mattias Frey (Kent University)
Bernhard Groß (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena)
Doris Kaufmann (Universität Bremen)
Judith Keilbach (Utrecht University)
Gertrud Koch (Freie Universität Berlin)
Alison Landsberg (George Mason University – Fairfax)
Sylvie Lindeperg (Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)
Michael Loebenstein (Austrian Film Museum)
James Mansell (University of Nottingham)
Sabine Moller (Humboldt-Universität Berlin)
Sabine Nessel (Freie Universität Berlin)
Vrääth Öhner (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Digital History)
Laura Rascaroli (University College Cork)
Matthias Steinle (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3)
Chris Wahl (Filmuniversität Babelsberg)
Ingo Zechner (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Digital History)

Cooperation Partners

Bertz + Fischer


Webmaster and Content Editor: Tatiana Astafeva, Lukas Holländer
Website Designer: Laura Oldenbourg
Cover Picture Designer: Julian Elbers
Technical Implementation: einskommanull.com